Haunting Halloween Truths: ‘Costume Drama’ Hell or Heaven?

Halloween can be a fun time for us humans, but it can be a confusing, stressful and potentially hazardous experience for our furries. So, to help us fur parents understand better, over this week we are going to take a look at this spooky time from our beloved pets’ perspectives. Get ready to journey into a parallel world where our pets can suddenly speak and share some of their own Halloween ‘tails’:

Meet 4-year-old Tony the Pug and find out about his Halloween ‘costume drama’:

“My fur family are passionate about Halloween. They always go crazy trying to outdo the ‘Smith’ family next door. Adorning our house in more and more spooky decorations each year. They also love to dress up and spend weeks planning their Halloween costumes.  

It freaked me out the first year they did this. I couldn’t understand who these strange people were that had invaded my home. It was really scary made me shake uncontrollably all over. Even without their costumes on I gave them all a wide berth for a few days, just in case they turned scary again.

The worst halloween ever

As if this wasn’t bad enough, the following year was the worst Halloween of my life. One minute I was calmly munching on my venison and potato dinner, it’s my fave. The next thing I knew I was being wrestled into a lurid bright orange pumpkin costume.  

I immediately started to panic. I’ve never worn anything before and this costume was a little snug around my neck. I could feel myself starting to wheeze, which just made me panic more. I have issues with breathing at the best of times, as I inherited my mum’s flat face and tiny nostrils. She was a real Pug beauty back in the day, even won a few prizes!

Oh, and it was just so itchy. I could feel my skin tingling within minutes of them putting it on me. It was like an army of ants was crawling all over my body. Still makes me feel itchy just thinking about it. Plus, it was made of this yucky synthetic scratchy material. It felt horrible against my body and smelt of weird chemicals, which I really didn’t like. I made a mental note to keep myself well away from all those pumpkins with tealights in, just in case I went up like a Roman candle.

Frustratingly, the costume was so tight that I couldn’t even get my leg up to have a decent scratch – I swear it was designed for a cat, not a dog. To add further insult to injury, there was a sharp and badly placed label digging right into my privates – ouch!  

What if I need the toilet!

Talking of privates, I wasn’t even sure how I was supposed to go to the toilet. The pumpkin costume was all encompassing and my bits were well and truly trapped inside it. I was already planning a suitably snarky complaint letter to the designer of this revolting creation, as soon as I was freed from its itchy clutches.

Understandably, I was now feeling grumpy and a little anxious. I tried desperately to communicate my feelings of displeasure to my family. I tried barking frantically, whining and leaping around trying to itch my body on anything I could. Sadly, my family mistook my behaviour for excitement and started trying to play with me. “No, no, no,” I barked, just get me out of this costume. I was quickly heating up by this point too.

I’m known for being a bit of a worrier and could feel a full-blown panic attack brewing. I was now hot, itchy and beginning to feel a little claustrophobic in my stupid pumpkin costume. I guzzled down almost a whole bowl of water and lay on the cool kitchen floor panting heavily, desperately trying to cool myself down.

Time for some public humiliation

Just when I thought it couldn’t get any worse. My fur-dad snaps on my lead and I’m marched towards the front door with my excited mini-fur family (also in full costume) in tow. As I was hustled down the hallway, I caught a glimpse of myself in the hallway mirror – horror alert, I looked ridiculous!  I whined begging my fur-dad not to take me out.

So, I tried all my best tricks to save myself from the inevitable humiliation. After all, wearing this in the house is one thing, going out in public is quite another. I dragged my feet, sat down I even have a laydown protest at one point. But being of diminutive size, my fur-dad simply scooped me up and off we went.

Eventually, I accepted my fate and tried to keep up with my fur-family as best I could. But my costume was so restrictive I could barely move my legs enough to walk normally – I was so uncomfortable. The only positive was that it was lovely and cool outside and I could feel my temperature and breathing calming down.  

That night, it felt like we must have knocked on everyone’s door. With each knock, I could feel my reputation slipping away from me. All the humans insisted on cooing and trying to cuddle me as soon as they saw me – I’m an adult dog people! Unfortunately, I also came to nose to nose with my doggy friends (and foes). I received a mixture of pitying looks, plenty of sniggering and some were even rolling around with laughter. It was so humiliating. I was the laughing stock of the park for weeks.

I was also desperate for a pee after drinking all that water earlier to cool down. My costume had my bits well and truly sewn in, so I knew this was not going to happen anytime soon. So on I waddled feeling miserable and depressed and like my bladder was going to be pop. It was the worst night of my life.

Freedom at last and time for a well deserved pee

Eventually, we returned home and my fur mum helped me out of my costume- ahh it felt like heaven! I dashed like a whippet out into the garden to relieve myself – bliss. Finally, I had an empty bladder and could move like a dog again. Best of all, I could finally have that scratch and I really went for it!  

My fur-mum noticed instantly that I had some nasty chaffing marks on my belly and an angry red rash. So the next day we went to see the vet. They prescribed some cream and a wash to help soothe my skin. The vet also advised my mum against putting me in any costumes again – what a hero! I think mum had already decided this too after seeing how miserable I was.”

Tips for costumes and pets:

  • Many of our beloved furries don’t enjoy wearing costumes. They can find it a stressful, itchy and uncomfortable experience. So the best advice is to only dress up pets that are genuinely happy to be dressed up and never force it on them. 
  • Always put your pup first. No amazing insta photo is worth causing your furry friend distress.
  • If you try a costume on your pet and they seem unhappy or are showing signs of distress, remove it immediately.
  • Remember, just like us, not all pets like to be in the limelight. Dressing them in a costume is guaranteed to attract extra attention, which may not be welcomed by your shy or anxious dog.
  • Check that the costume is the right size and designed for their species. 
  • Do a dress rehearsal before the big night, so you can check it fits and that they are happy and comfortable in it sitting, laying, standing and on the move.
  • Ensure their costume does not prevent or impede their movement, breathing, sight, ability to bark or hearing. Take extra care if you have a brachycephalic breed as they will need a nice loose fit around their neck to ensure no restriction to their breathing.
  • Check the costume is safe for your pet and is not made of any toxic or flammable materials.
  • Bear in mind that pets can quickly overheat in costumes, so keep a close watch for signs they are too hot. For example, panting, lethargy and over-drinking.
  • Make sure that your pet can do all their usual activities in their costume, for example, drink, eat and toilet. This is vital for their wellbeing.
  • If in doubt let them be themselves, after all they are fab enough just as they are!

NEXT: We will hear from Doris, an elderly Jack Russell and get an insight into this spooky time from a golden oldies perspective.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑